BREAKING: Melaye, Kwankwaso, 13 Other Senators Decamp From APC To PDP

Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi west, and Rabiu Kwankwaso, senator representing Kano central, have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Melaye and Kwankwaso were among the 15 senators who announced their defection on Tuesday.

Fourteen of the lawmakers moved to APC, while one defected to the Action Democratic Party (ADP).

The notice of defection was contained in a letter read by Senate President Bukola Saraki on the floor of the upper legislative chamber.

Senators from the All Progressive Congress who defected to the Peoples Democratic Party today on the floor of the Senate include Sen. Tejouso, Sen. Shaaba Lafiaaji, Sen. Barnabas Gemade, Sen. Dino Melaye. Sen. Shittu, Sen. Rafiu, Sen. Shitu Ubali, Sen. Isa Misau, Sen. Hunkuyi, Sen. Monsurat, Sen. Danbaba, Sen. Nafada, Sen. Nazif, Sen. Kwankwaso.

The Nigerian Senate


Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Order paper of Tuesday, 24th July, 2018.

View image on TwitterView image on TwitterView image on Twitter

The Nigerian Senate


Senate President, @bukolasaraki announces defection of Senators: @lanretejuoso, Shaaba Lafiagi, @BI_Gemade, @dino_melaye, Ubali Shittu, @rafiuibrahim, @SenIsahMisau, Suleiman Hunkuyi, @MonsuratSpeaks, Abdullahi Danbaba, Bayero Nafada, Suleiman Nazif, @RMKwankwaso

The cross-carpeting of the lawmakers comes in the wake of the police siege on the residences of Saraki and Ike Ekweremadu, deputy senate president.

Saraki has been summoned by the police over the robbery incident which led to the loss of 20 lives in Offa, Kwara state, while the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has invited Ekweremadu over a money laundering case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *